I am running down the 5th lane of the Saskatoon Field House for the
18th lap on route to completing a 1 hour training run when I notice
something was not right.  My pace was getting slower, my heart started
beating faster and my stomach was not churning more than my
steps were turning over in my lane.  Remembering the adice I was
given a few weeks ago that running is mostly a mental sport, I tried
to dismiss the obstacles and keep going.  I was able to
plug through lap number 19 and then lap number 20 until I found myself
gasping for air.  "What is going on?" I thought to myself.  The
last few weeks of training, this has never happened to me."  I found myself
getting frustrated and wanted to give up my training for the
evening. "There is always tomorrow," I am am thinking to myself as I
tempt myself to go home.  I knew I could not give up that
easily. When race day comes on May 27th 2012, there is no "tomorrow"
for another train run, when the gun smoke clears, I want to be in that pack of
runners set out to finish the 42km course set before them.  All
my tempo runs, all my pace runs, all my late night evening runs outdoors
would add to the thrill of being part of this day.  Then
I remember why I am running this year:  Ratanak
International. The long road of recovery for thousands of young
children in caught in human trafficking, poverty, in an
environment that can often host insufficient health supplies is being given
a voice through the efforts of this wonderful foundation.  So
after saying a brief prayer, I take myself off the track and head
straight for the gym equipment where I got myself on an eliptical
trainer and finish my workout.  The good news
is I am able to make it through my training run
without further complications.  This new perspective made me
realize that I had to do more than ignore this minor
incovenience, I had to do something about it. I had to act on it.
 
When you are running through your daily rhythms
of life, ask yourself, "what is going on?" When you see the world through a
child's eyes, our momentary discomforts seem insignificant compared to the
horror many others go through.  For more information on how you can act on
helping a child cope with their daily inconveniences. Visit: https://ratanak.org/secure/donate.cfm (in
response to "Saskatchewan Marathon Fundraiser
2012)  
                                                                                                            (100
days until Race Day!)     



Leave a Reply.