The Art of Hospitality
I remember one of the first times I travelled on city transit.  I was traveling to meet up with a friend in his new apartment. I was going to a place I had not been before, on a mode of transportation I had not used much before, with several people whom I had not met before.  I had an address in my hand and a bus driver to guide me.  It was a warm fall evening so naturally being dark and in an unfamiliar place, my sense of security was being challenged.  I was dropped off at the bus route where I thought my stop should be.   
As I surveyed the landscape I knew that I was not "in Kansas anymore." I checked my address, I checked the surroundings and quickly felt confused and unsure of where I was.  
"Drat, I should have brought a map." I said to myself. Now what do I do?"  At a time when personal cell phones were not as prevalent as they are today I thought I could spot a pay phone.  I walked up the street and down the street yet found nothing.  Finally I spotted a church off the road with people streaming out.  "They must have a phone," I thought to myself as I cautiously yet confidently strode towards the church.  I was confident because I was certain there was a phone, I was cautious because I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
I quickly found a man who looked very kind and gentle. I asked him if the church had a phone. He quickly directed me to the phone.  I was ready to get out my friends phone number when my heart sank realizing I had not brought it with me.  
Sensing I was losing my composure the kind gentleman wondered if he could give me a ride somewhere.  Regaining my hope in the situation I politely obliged.  
As we drove I emphatically thanked Art, whom I found out his name later.  "Art, I can't thank you enough for your hospitality.  I am far from home, with no phone number, and an address I've never been to before, and shoot it looks like I'm late as well."
Art was very cordial as he drove, telling me what area I was in and what sort of surroundings were there.  And then he stopped, and with a serious yet humble tone told me, "Well you know what Colin, I was actually speaking to my congregation about being a good Samaritan at church tonight.  I would be a hypocrite if I did not practice what I was preaching."  
Those words reverberated within me as we drove by a strip mall a few blocks down to phone my friend to tell him that I would be late.  I dug around in my pockets.  No change.  "No problem," Art stated, "I have 35 cents right here." 
I later found out from my friends roommate that in fact there was a mix up of dates and that my friend had gone to another place to hang out.  
Now what am I going to do! I thought.  How am I going to catch a bus at this time of night when I don't even know if the buses are running. 
Just then I heard Art behind me, "how about I give you a ride home Colin." It's no trouble at all.
Art's example to me reminded me the true meaning of the "Art of Hospitality."  By going out of your way to offer a stranger time, resources and moral support, you remind that person that they are important with no strings attached and no obligation to pay you back.
Thanks to all of those who have gone out of their way these past two weeks.  Many have showed us the "Art of Hospitality" by making our transition from the familiar of Stettler to unfamiliar of Saskatoon not just a move but a journey of discovering what the root of the  "Art of Hospitality is... Love.   
       



Leave a Reply.